Higher Education

Codezilla: Uva Wellassa University’s Open Source Hackathon

Codezilla | Mozilla Campus Club | Uva Wellassa

Organized by the Mozilla Campus Club of Uva Wellassa University Sri Lanka, Codezilla, the open source product development inter-university hackathon was concluded on 16th of June 2018. 

In case you were wondering what a Mozilla Campus Club is

To quote Mozilla itself, “Mozilla’s mission is to ensure the Internet is a global public resource, open and accessible to all. A Mozilla University & College Club is a group of students with a passion for technology who meet regularly to advance this mission by building and innovating on open source projects that keep the web open.”

What’s Codezilla?

Codezilla was an open source product development inter-university hackathon. Following registrations and a thorough overlook of their contribution made at GitHub, 50 contestants were shortlisted. This proved to be a challenging task since there were 250 registered contestants trying to save their spot for the second round.

Codezilla | Mozilla Campus Club | Uva Wellassa

(Image Credits: Haththilawwe Photography)

In the second round, selected 50 constants carried on with the coding of the relevant project for 2 weeks. Thereafter, the final projects were judged by a team of technological experts.

The winners

The award ceremony saw the crowds gather in their numbers. This included Ruwan Ranganath, DevOps at WSO2.Telco and Chamantha de Silva, Tech Lead at Sysco Labs. Ruwan took the stage to talk about FOSS.LK, a Free and Open Source Software community that kicked off a few years back. Following this Chamantha addressed the audience about virtual digital assistants under the topic “JARVIS lives everywhere”.

Next up, was the moment of truth. This was where the best teams were recognized and awarded. As such these were the top 10 teams,

  • 10th place – Sandun Isuru Niraj from University of Moratuwa (UoM)
  • 9th place – Namila Bandara from University of Peradeniya (UoP)
  • 8th place – Dhanuka Perera from Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology (SLIIT)
  • 7th place – Nirosh Ubeysingh from National School of Business Management (NSBM)
  • 6th place – Chashika Jayashan Weerathunga from University of Colombo School of Computing (UCSC)
  • 5th place – Erandra Jayasundara from University of Kelaniya (UoK)
  • 4th place – Dilusha Dasanayaka from University of Kelaniya
  • 3rd place – Kekayan Nanthakumar from University of Kelaniya
  • 2nd place – Kasun Chinthaka Piyarathna from University of Moratuwa
  • 1st place – Oshan Mudannayake from University of Colombo School of Computing

Following the awards, the proceedings for the day came to an end with the delivery of the vote of thanks.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A Leading News Source covering educational news, awareness, guidance and issues in Sri Lankan Education landscape.

Copyright © EducationToday. Nexia Capital Media

To Top

blog lam dep | toc dep | giam can nhanh


toc ngan dep 2016 | duong da dep | 999+ kieu vay dep 2016

| toc dep 2016 | du lichdia diem an uong

xem hai

the best premium magento themes

dat ten cho con

áo sơ mi nữ

giảm cân nhanh

kiểu tóc đẹp

đặt tên hay cho con

xu hướng thời trangPhunuso.vn

shop giày nữ

giày lười nữgiày thể thao nữthời trang f5Responsive WordPress Themenha cap 4 nong thonmau biet thu deptoc dephouse beautifulgiay the thao nugiay luoi nutạp chí phụ nữhardware resourcesshop giày lườithời trang nam hàn quốcgiày hàn quốcgiày nam 2015shop giày onlineáo sơ mi hàn quốcshop thời trang nam nữdiễn đàn người tiêu dùngdiễn đàn thời tranggiày thể thao nữ hcmphụ kiện thời trang giá rẻ